Visites guidées

VISITES GUIDÉES
En quête de culture

Atelier de la Rose
Place du village
46700 Montcabrier
tel : 05 65 24 66 36
cell : 06 87 82 33 18

Visites de sites historiques

De Lascaux à Lautrec, des grottes ornées à la fondation de modernisme, le sud ouest propose d’extraordinaires exemples de 25 000 ans de création culturelle.

“En Quête de Culture” est le nom du service personnalisé proposé par Sally comprenant des excursions culturelles ou visites de sites historiques.

Vous découvrirez ainsi non seulement les principaux sites touristiques, mais également des endroits moins connus et hors des circuits habituels.

Situés à proximité de Montcabrier, vous pourrez visiter les chefs-d’oeuvre romans de Moissac et Conques ; Rocamadour, haut lieu de pèlerinage ; des sites paléolithiques mondialement connus ou le musée Toulouse-Lautrec en plein centre d’Albi. Ces visites prennent une journée entière. Des visites d’une demi-journée vous amèneront voir les peintures murales des sept péchés capitaux à Martignac, le Pont Valentré à Cahors, le château de Bonaguil, le musée du sculpteur Ossip Zadkine aux Arques ou les nombreuses gariottes ou cazelles.

“En Quête de Culture” vous donne le temps d’explorer à pied d’anciennes rues de villages avec leurs boutiques. Voir l’indication “+ balades” dans le texte ci-dessous.

Les tarifs sont par personne (3 pers max) et comprennent : service de guide personnalisé, transport et visites. Veuillez nous consulter pour les tarifs de groupes plus grands.

CIRCUITS DISPONIBLES:
1) Montcabrier – randonnée guidée (20 euro pers) ; environ 2 H. Montcabrier est un site plein de charme et une bonne introduction aux bastides ou “nouvelles villes médiévales”. Il a survécu au terrible conflit contre le seigneur de Pestillac durant la guerre de Cent Ans. Sally vous contera l’histoire de Montcabrier, tout en vous promenant à travers le village et ses forêts avoisinantes, vous révélant les points d’intérêt hors des sentiers battus : une arche naturelle, une grotte artificielle, des remparts et une cazelle.

2) Bonaguil – voiture + visite (100 euros pers ; 65 euros pers groupes de 2/3 pers); environ 2 H. Lawrence d’Arabie a dit de ce château “il paraît si parfait que c’est presque ridicule de le nommer une ruine.” Le circuit vous propose de découvrir les mystères d’un lieu figé entre la lumière étincelante de la Renaissance et les ombres d’un passé lointain.

3) Préhistoire, chevaux ponctués et mains négatifs – voiture + visite de 2 sites + balades (170 euros pers ; 100 euros pers groupes de 2/3 pers) ; environ 6 H. La grotte de Pech-Merle est mondialement connue pour la qualité de ses dessins, gravures et peintures paléolithiques dont certaines âgées de plus de 24 000 ans. Le circuit comprend une brève visite de St. Cirq Lapopie, site qui a inspiré artistes et écrivains de tous pays et fut souvent décrit comme l’un des “plus beaux endroits du monde”.

4) Cahors et le Pont Valentré – voiture + balades (130 euros pers ; 80 euros pers groupes de 2/3 pers) ; environ 4 H. Visite de cette paisible ville de province et de sa cathédrale. Découvrez la légende du “pont du diable” (le Pont Valentré). La visite s’achève sur une vue panoramique de Cahors. Le retour se fait à travers les vignobles de Cahors avec un arrêt prévu à l’une des caves pour dégustation et achat de produits régionaux, si vous le désirez.

5) Puy l’Evêque : peintures murales des sept péchés capitaux et le quartier des bateliers – voiture + visite de 2 sites + balades (80 euros pers ; 50 euros pers groupes de 2/3 ) ; environ 2 H. Visite de Puy l’Evêque et ses vieux quartiers par la rivière Lot ainsi que l’église de Martignac et ses peintures murales des sept péchés dans un hameau endormi.

6) La route de Gourdon – voiture + visite de 2 sites + balades (110 euros pers ; 70 euros pers groupes de 2/3); environ 3 H. Sur cette route qui s’étend de la vallée de la Thèze à la ville de Gourdon, vous longerez un château, une abbaye en ruine, une ferme traditionnelle et visiterez un atelier d’artiste devenu musée. Cet atelier appartenait au sculpteur russe Ossip Zadkine qui préféra cette région à sa demeure parisienne. Son village d’adoption, les Arques, a été rendu célèbre par le livre de l’écrivain américain Michael Sanders “You Can’t See Paris From Here” (“D’ici on ne peut pas voir Paris”). Gourdon est une bourgade pittoresque et offre une vue panoramique de 375° depuis l’emplacement de l’ancien château.

7) Nouvelles villes médiévales – voiture + balades (90 euros pers ; 60 euros pers groupes de 2/3); environ 2 H. Visite d’initiation sur les bastides. Certaines sont d’origine française et d’autres d’origine anglaise ; chacune est différente. Vous découvrirez l’urbanisme sous son aspect le plus pittoresque … et datant seulement de sept siècles!

8) Moissac – voiture + balades (120 euros pers ; 75 euros pers groupes de 2/3) ; environ 4 H. L’abbaye avec son cloître et son tympan est de renommée internationale et citée en exemple de la sculpture romane, notamment de l’école de Toulouse, à son apogée. Ce parcours a été soigneusement établi, traversant paysages somptueux et villages typiques.

9) Conques et son parfait tympan de “l’enfer et le paradis” – voiture + balades (180 euros pers ; 110 euros pers groupes de 2/3) ; environ 8 H. Sally vous fera découvrir ce site sur les coteaux de l’Aveyron, avec son église-abbaye et sa collection unique de reliques, qui a survécu à de nombreuses guerres ainsi qu’à la Révolution. Le tympan attire les visiteurs du monde entier.

10) Musée Toulouse-Lautrec (Albi) – voiture + balades, visite de 2 sites (180 euros pers ; 120 euros pers groupes de 2/3) ; environ 7 H. Situé dans l’ancien évêché, ce musée regroupe la collection la plus complète au monde de cet artiste. A côté du musée, la cathédrale s’impose, faite de briques roses et construite pour réaffirmer la puissance de l’église catholique après la défaite des “hérétiques” cathares ou albigeois. Cet itinéraire inclut la visite de deux villages médiévaux.

11) Rocamadour et la Vierge Noire – voiture + balades, visite de 2 sites (140 euros pers ; 90 euros pers groupes de 2/3) ; environ 5 H. En d’autres temps, les rois médiévaux venaient en pèlerinage dans cette cité spectaculaire. Vous y découvrirez la Vierge Noire. Ce circuit inclut également la visite d’un moulin fortifié datant du 13è siècle, toujours en état de marche.

Guided tours

GUIDED TOURS
Visits to historical sites

Atelier de la Rose
Place du village
46700 Montcabrier
tel : 05 65 24 66 36
cell : 06 87 82 33 18

10% reduction on all stays of 6 nights or more
in April or October

CULTURE QUEST

“...to lovers of beauty, to lovers of history, to those whom the French call people of cultivation, this land has everything to offer. Let them come here, and beauty and history will fill their minds as water fills a spring.”
Freda White, ‘Three Rivers of France’.

From Lascaux to Lautrec, from painted and engraved Paleolithic caves to the foundations of modernism, South-West France is rich in outstanding examples of creative endeavour over 25,000 years.

Culture Quest is the name for Sally’s service of personal, cultural tours or visits to historic sites. This service not only ensures you find the key sites, but also those fascinating and forgotten corners that the casual tourist usually never comes across.

Within easy reach of Montcabrier are medieval chefs-d’oeuvre of the Romanesque at Moissac and Conques, the pilgrim city of Rocamadour, world-famous Paleolithic sites, and the Toulouse-Lautrec museum in the heart of Albi. These visits take a full day each. Shorter visits can take you to see the Seven Deadly Sins mural paintings at Martignac, the Valentré Bridge at Cahors, the fabulous 15th-century castle at Bonaguil, sculptor Ossip Zadkine’s museum at Les Arques and the numerous dry-stone cabins called ‘cazelles’ or ‘gariottes’.

Culture Quest often gives you time to explore ancient streets on foot and even to do some shopping. These are indicated in the list below by the phrase “+ walk”.

Prices are per person (3 people max) and include personal guidance, transport and entry fees where appropriate. Larger groups are possible. Meals and refreshments are not included.

AVAILABLE TOURS:
1) Montcabrier – a guided walk (20 euros per person); about 2 hours. Montcabrier has a special charm of its own and it is a good introduction to bastides or medieval ‘new towns’. It has survived despite a bitter conflict with the ‘seigneur’ across the valley during the 100 Years War. Sally will tell you the ‘Montcabrier Story’, taking you round the village and its surrounding woodland to reveal some of the features that many tourists might miss: a natural arch, an artificial cave, dry-stone cabins and ramparts.

2) Bonaguil – a drive + visit (100 euros for 1 person; 65 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 2 hours. Lawrence of Arabia said of this building: “It is so perfect that it seems almost ridiculous to call it a ruin.” The tour offers you a chance to explore the mystery of a castle caught between the bright light of the Renaissance and the shadows of earlier times.

3) Prehistory, painted horses and hand prints – a drive + visits to 2 sites + walk (170 euros for 1 person; 100 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 6 hours. The cave at Pech-Merle is known worldwide for the quality of its Paleolithic drawings, paintings and engravings, some of which date back some 30,000 years. The tour includes a brief visit to St. Cirq Lapopie. This prominent site has attracted artists and writers from many lands and has been called “one of the most beautiful places in the world.”

4) Cahors and the Valentré bridge – a drive + walk (130 euros for one person; 80 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 4 hours. Explore the old cathedral quarter of this quiet county town and learn the legend of the famous Devil’s Bridge (Le Pont Valentré). The visit is topped off with a bird’s eye view of Cahors. Your return route takes you through the vineyards of the Cahors wine region, with the option of stopping at one of them to taste the local produce and buy a bottle (or two).

5) Seven Deadly Sins mural paintings and the river boatmen’s quarter – a drive + visit to 2 sites + walk; (80 euros for one person; 50 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 2 hours. Discover Puy l’Evêque’s old trading quarter by the river as well as the Seven Deadly Sins mural paintings in a sleepy hilltop hamlet.

6) The Road to Gourdon – a drive + visit to 2 sites + walk (110 euros for one person; 70 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 3 hours. The road that starts in the Thèze valley and continues to Gourdon links a castle, a ruined abbey, traditional farm buildings and an artist’s studio, now a museum. The studio belonged to the Russian sculptor Ossip Zadkine, who chose this region in preference to his former Paris home. His adopted village, Les Arques, has been made famous by Michael Sander’s book ‘You Can’t See Paris From Here’. Picturesque Gourdon is impressive as you approach it by road and has a panoramic view of 360° from the site where its mighty castle once stood.

7) Medieval ‘New Towns’ – a drive + walk (90 euros for one person; 60 euros each for 2 to 3 people; about 2 hours. This is Sally’s introductory tour of bastide villages. Some are French, others originally English – and each one is different. Here is town planning at its most picturesque… and only some seven centuries old!

8) Moissac – a drive + visit (120 euros for one person; 75 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 4 hours. The tympanum of the abbey church and its cloisters are recognised internationally as a prime example of Romanesque sculpture and, in particular, of the Toulouse school. The route to and from Moissac has been specially chosen to take in interesting countryside and charming villages.

9) Conques and its perfect ‘heaven and hell’ tympanum – a drive + visit (180 euros for one person; 110 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 8 hours. The abbey church at Conques and its collection of reliquaries are unique, having survived many wars and the Revolution. The tympanum attracts visitors from all corners of the planet. Sally has chosen the best approach to reveal the site, nestling in the Aveyron hills.

10) Toulouse-Lautrec – a drive + visit to 3 sites (180 euros for one person; 120 euros for 2 to 3 people); about 7 hours. Set in the former bishop’s palace, the museum has the most extensive Toulouse-Lautrec collection in the world. It is next to the imposing pink brick cathedral, built to reassert the power of the Roman Catholic Church after the defeat of the alleged heresy known as “Albigensian” or “Cathar”. This itinerary also allows time to stop at two medieval villages of great architectural interest.

11) Rocamadour and the Black Virgin – a drive + visit to 2 sites + walk (140 euros for one person; 90 euros each for 2 to 3 people); about 5 hours. Rocamadour is a spectacular pilgrim city where medieval kings came to do penance. You will also see the Black Virgin and visit a nearby fortified 13th century mill that is still working.