Randonnées Accompagnées

PETITES RANDONNÉES ACCOMPAGNÉES
dans le Lot

Atelier de la Rose
Place du village
46700 Montcabrier
tel : 05 65 24 66 36
cell : 06 87 82 33 18

Situé au bord d’une région forestière nommée la Bouriane, Montcabrier est un point de départ idéal pour découvrir le vaste réseau de chemins de randonnées serpentant à travers les forêts de châtaigniers, de chênes et de pins.

Le village est situé sur le GR652 et proche de GR36 faisant ainsi partie du réseau de randonnées nationales.

Il est également le point de départ d’un des nombreux circuits du Guide Officiel des randonnées de la Vallée du Lot et du Vignoble, qui comprend une quinzaine de circuits entre Montcabrier et Cahors.

Les guides imprimés de randonnées sont une source bien utile, mais ne peuvent en aucun cas afficher toutes les possibilités et ne sont pas à jour avec les dernières informations locales. Un bon guide connaît forcement les chemins devenus inaccessibles en raison d’une végétation débordante, une inondation, ou tout simplement un fermier qui dégage un ancien chemin sur ses terres. Votre guide sait où se trouvent un puits, une source, une cabanne en pierre sèche ou même une église en ruine, vous assurant ainsi de profiter pleinement de vos randonnées.

Vous pouvez découvrir les trésors de la région par vous-même mais ceux qui préfèrent avoir recours aux services d’un guide, peuvent s’adresser à Sally. Elle vous propose un choix de randonnées pour tous âges et niveaux. Une balade de deux heures à travers le village et la forêt avoisinante vous donnera un bon aperçu de l’histoire et des secrets de Montcabrier (20€ pers). Une randonnée au milieu des bois jusqu’au château de Bonaguil en découvrant une mystérieuse tour du moyen âge avec visite guidée du château et repas dans le village, vous prendra une journée entière (90€ pers hors repas).

Les randonnées accompagnées peuvent être réservées d’avance ou pendant votre séjour. Elles sont également disponibles si vous êtes hébergés ailleurs.

Accompanied walks

ACCOMPANIED WALKS
in the Lot, southwest France

Atelier de la Rose
Place du village
46700 Montcabrier
tel : 05 65 24 66 36
cell : 06 87 82 33 18

10% reduction on all stays of 6 nights or more
in April or October

“Only those thoughts that come by walking have any value.”
Frederich Nietzsch.

Situated on the edge of the forested area known as “La Bouriane”, Montcabrier in Southwest France is an ideal base from which to explore the complex weave of footpaths that thread themselves through the woods of chestnut, oak and pine.

The village is on a grande randonnée (the GR 652 and near the GR36) and is thus part of a national network of walks.

It is also the point of departure for a circuit in the official walkers guide for the Vallée du Lot et du Vignoble, which lists some 15 others between Montcabrier and Cahors.

While guidebooks are an excellent source for walks, they cannot list all possibilities. They are bound to be limited and unable to include the latest local knowledge. A good guide will know which paths have become unpassable through overgrown vegetation or flooding or where a farmer has opened up a formerly disused footpath on his or her land. Your guide will also know where there is a well, spring, dry-stone hut or even a ruined chapel off the beaten track, for example, and thus ensure you do not miss any of the delights of walking in this region.

Walkers are most welcome to discover the treasures of the area independently. Those who prefer to have a guide should discuss their requirements with Sally. She can propose a range of walks for all levels of ability and ages. A gentle stroll through the village and its forest, lasting just under 2 hours, gives you a good introduction to the history and secrets of Montcabrier (20€ per person). Alternatively, a route through the woods to Bonaguil castle (via a mysterious medieval watchtower), with a guided tour of the castle and time for a leisurely lunch in Bonaguil village, will take almost a day (90€ per person, lunch not included).

Sally’s aim is to provide a walk through time and space, to help you explore both the natural and cultural wealth of this part of France.

Walks can be booked either in advance of your stay at Atelier de la Rose or while you are here. They are also available to people who have accommodation elsewhere.